country living in the city

With Storm on the verge of heading overseas, and organising all our belongings to go into storage, I accepted a sit that started a couple days after we finished packing up our home.
What a fun housesit looking after chooks and quails for a young family group while they enjoyed a road trip holiday! ūüôā¬†Certainly a¬†touch of country right next to the city! A really quaint home with everything readily available,¬†it did have¬†wifi¬†BUT, NO TV!
The best thing instead was¬†– a huge supply of books to immerse in. Want to explore life and know what it’s like without that box in the middle of the loungeroom? Then this was the perfect sit.¬†The amount of reading and writing I got done was amazing. It was a joy to lay on the couch reading instead of the endless noise that we normally allow to surround us.

The chooks and quails were really easy care – with a¬†big supply of … one egg every couple days –¬†haha. And also one of those push lawn mowers that many have not seen in years really¬†completed the quirkiness of this sit.
I was able to enjoy going to watch the Davis Cup tennis and walk to the stadium which was great Рno fighting of traffic and though buses readily close at the shopping centre, I also enjoyed walking the 5kms into the city a handful of times over the course of the stay to grab a movie. A home that I really felt comfortable staying at, and would definitely take on again!

sit 002 March/April | length of stay, 16 days ‚Äď Fairfield, Brisbane Q¬† .
Chooks. Quails. Live-in security for the home. Garden/plant watering. Mowing. Mail collection.

endorsement
We came home to very happy chooks and quails and a beautifully cared for house and garden. Ann is a lovely person who is an excellent communicator and easy to get in touch with.” Mark and Tricia, Fairfield Q

The ad I responded to:
We need someone to look after our chooks and quail in the upcoming school holidays, possibly mowing if it ever rains again, as well as water the garden and make the house look occupied.
We have a small, highset, late 1940s house well located to shops and services. Two minutes walk to catch the 196 into the city, five minutes walk to Coles and the library, and an eight minute walk to the train station. There are bike paths easily accessible, adults and kids bikes you can borrow, and plenty of toys for any visiting toddlers.
No television, dishwasher or air-conditioning, but we have ceiling fans, decent insulation, unlimited wi-fi internet, a number of board games and a medium quality keyboard to play piano on.
Undercover parking, but no space for a caravan unless you have one of those cool pop-up camper things.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *